Films byTexts by Kinuyo Tanaka
The Wandering Princess
Kinuyo Tanaka, 1960, 102’

Based on the memoirs of Hiro Saga, The Wandering Princess depicts the story of Ryuko, an aristocrat who, at the outset of World War II, is forced to marry Futetsu, the younger brother of the soon-to-be disposed Chinese emperor.

Girls of the Night
Kinuyo Tanaka, 1961, 93’

After the 1956 Prostitution Prevention Law was passed in Japan and hundreds of sex workers were arrested and sent to reformatories, former sex worker Kuniko tries to assimilate into the workforce as the prejudices against her past keep following her.